2005-03-04 - 4:07 p.m.
I didn't save my wrist bands

I completed another first (and hopefully last) for my lifetime. I was admitted to the ER last night with a fever of 105 degrees. I have a kidney infection. The antibiotics my doctor gave me didn't work on the urinary tract infection, so it worsened into a kidney infection, causing a horrible fever that lasted 2 days, and a headache and back aches, and leg and hip and stomach aches that often times hurt so bad I was crying. I would alternate between sweating and feeling like I was gonna black out because I was too hot, and chattering my teeth because I was shivering so much.

I went in on Tuesday, feeling overall just fine, except some minor symptoms of a UTI. So my doctor gave me an Rx for antibiotics, and by the next day (Wednesday) at around 1:30, I was feeling like shit. So I left work early and before I even got home I was already shivering and had the worst headache ever. My mom took my temperature and it was about 102. So she called the doctor, and they made an appt. for me to come in at 7:45 that night to get new antibiotics. By that time I was even more of a mess, but they gave me a shot of antibiotics and then prescribed me a new kind of pill. By 11:00 last night, after two doses of antibiotic and Tylenol around the clock, my fever was still not going down...it was going up. I could barely move, everything hurt so bad. My mom took my temperature, which was at 105. She decided to take me to the ER.

They took some blood samples (the third time in three days I've had blood drawn), made me pee in a cup (also the third time in three days), and then started me on an IV of saline. Then they gave me a shot of Motrin to relieve pain and bring down my fever, and then two different kinds of antibiotics. I've got so many track marks in my arms from all the needles they've poked me with, you'd think I was becoming a junkie. Anyway, by 3:30am, I was done and they sent me on my way. My fever was down to the lowest it had been in 2 days: 100.

When my mom took my temperature this morning, it was back to normal...98.4. I still feel pretty weak, but it makes all the difference in the world to not have a pounding headache and a fever.

I'm just glad I wasn't born in the 1800s, when they didn't have all these antibiotics. A hundred years ago, I would've died from this. Yeesh.

before - after


host - new - old - profile - notes

"You, you give me something...something that nobody else can give..." - 2009-09-19
Why are eyelashes so attractive? - 2007-09-23
Why now? - 2007-09-17
Chyea - 2006-12-29
"We'll be painting, deep down hoping, that the best summer ever will never end... - 2006-08-17