2003-03-24 - 4:59 p.m.
Written 13 years ago, about an event that occured almost 40 years ago, and it still holds true...

Tim O'Brien is a genius. I read this passage today, and the voice in my head just said, "HELL FUCKING YES." This is exactly it.

"It was my view then, and still is, that you don't make a war without knowing why. Knowledge, of course, is always imperfect, but it seemed to me that when a nation goes to war it must have reasonable confidence in the justice and imperative of its cause. You can't fix your mistakes. Once people are dead, you can't make them undead."

From The Things They Carried, by Tim O'Brien.

before - after


host - new - old - profile - notes

"You, you give me something...something that nobody else can give..." - 2009-09-19
Why are eyelashes so attractive? - 2007-09-23
Why now? - 2007-09-17
Chyea - 2006-12-29
"We'll be painting, deep down hoping, that the best summer ever will never end... - 2006-08-17