2004-07-22 - 3:17 a.m.
And people think you need a degree to earn over 70 bucks an hour

Man, some nights...being a waitress totally rocks. Nights like tonight, where I asked to be closer so I could make some extra money. It also meant I didn't get home until about 12:30 am, but hey...I walked out with $468 cash in my pocket. I had to stay late because this ridiculously drunk group of people wanted to order a few more rounds of drinks. They'd already drinken all of the El Tesoro Superior we had ($35 per shot, extremely fine tequila), and were moving on to other things.

I brought them their first round and the bill, as my manager instructed. The guy said he wanted three or four more rounds, and was willing to pay whatever to get them. He said he'd give me $200 if I stayed. So I asked my manager, and the bar tender, if that was okay. I told Jeremiah (the bar tender) I'd split my tip with him for staying late, if he wanted. He said to tell the guy 250 and he'd do it. So I went out there, said, "the bar tender says if you make it $250, he'll stay to make your drinks." He looked up and said, "I like this guy, it's a deal." Man I love drunk people.

So I bring another round...and another, and another. And bring them their bill. It's $166. The guy leaves a $300 tip on his credit card, and then gives me three $100 bills and tells me not to tell the bar tender about those. But I was feeling generous, so I tipped out the bussers twice what I was supposed to, and gave Jeremiah $200. Still, walking away with $400 from that one table, plus all the tips I made from my earlier tables.

Cheers to generous drunks!

before - after


host - new - old - profile - notes

"You, you give me something...something that nobody else can give..." - 2009-09-19
Why are eyelashes so attractive? - 2007-09-23
Why now? - 2007-09-17
Chyea - 2006-12-29
"We'll be painting, deep down hoping, that the best summer ever will never end... - 2006-08-17