2004-03-12 - 1:09 a.m.
I have conquered

In regard to my last entry, I no longer need a title. In a collaborative effort with the brilliant Mike Keller, I revised and titled my sonnet. From the day it was assigned, I knew this would be the piece I put the most work into, the one for which I was most proud, and the one I had to conquer. It was only a matter of when.

Incubus Virgo

If I seek vengeance for my burns, will I
let salt from tears sting rotted, abscessed hearts
who care no more about my own? A sigh
so silent lips sense only moisture�s thwarts�
avoidance never ceasing; tearing holes
that swell with unsuccess. Just flakes to dust,
so why ought I accept the punch�s rolls?
For games leave me a winner not. Bones rust:
erosion�s scars from scores of bitter lies
that creak like old screen doors before they�re slammed;
that buzz oppressive harshness�stale, like flies
who thrive on festering wounds that ooze the damned
emotions pent for far too many days.
Is love for you just that? Senseless craze?

Mira Ederer

before - after


host - new - old - profile - notes

"You, you give me something...something that nobody else can give..." - 2009-09-19
Why are eyelashes so attractive? - 2007-09-23
Why now? - 2007-09-17
Chyea - 2006-12-29
"We'll be painting, deep down hoping, that the best summer ever will never end... - 2006-08-17