2004-01-24 - 3:09 a.m.
Requiem for a Dream

I'm still hesitant to make this movie my new "favorite," but I will honestly admit to it being by far, the best movie I have ever experienced. Not seen, no. Experienced. On every single level, it is sheer brilliance, and oh boy, if there's ever a movie to scare you away from drugs, this is it. Appropriately rated NC-17, I don't know if this is a movie I would be up for seeing with the ease of agreement to seeing my longtime favorite, American Beauty. Hence why I am hesitant. But oh, damn. Stellar. Absolutely stellar. I have never been so blown away in my life, by anything. Never been left in so much awe. I've thought that about things in the past, but this supersedes them tenfold at least.

This movie displays the most incredible use of "show, don't tell," which is the hardest thing you can do with any kind of artwork, but especially film. Ms. Angelone pounds that concept into our heads as something to apply to our writing, but because film is often seen as doing this naturally, it is overlooked as a key element to success. This movie does not overlook that element at all, and boy does it succeed. Nothing filmed is unnecessary.

The character development is equally impressive, allowing the viewer to be in the movie, feeling what the characters feel. It's chilling, heart racing, eye-popping. (And I mean all of that in the most literal sense.)

The music, the visuals, the shots...again, nothing short of genius. They all only further the intensity and yet not for intensity's sake alone. For the feel. I was again reminded of Ms. Angelone saying in class, "Sometimes even if you don't understand a story, it can still be effective if you're left with a definite feeling after you read it." You feel this movie. In your bones.

And most basic, the plot. Not clich� and simple, not overly intricate or hard to follow. Just necessary.

If I had to sum up this movie in a word, it would be just that--necessary. Every single part, every single shot and sound and word and the placement of all of these is absolutely necessary, and absolutely brilliant.

Be warned, this movie is extremely intense, and can fuck with sensitive viewers. But if there is anything I am most glad I didn't chicken out of, it's seeing this movie.

before - after


host - new - old - profile - notes

"You, you give me something...something that nobody else can give..." - 2009-09-19
Why are eyelashes so attractive? - 2007-09-23
Why now? - 2007-09-17
Chyea - 2006-12-29
"We'll be painting, deep down hoping, that the best summer ever will never end... - 2006-08-17