2003-07-07 - 10:28 p.m.
And no, my crack didn't show

I was a plumber today. I decided that I was going to try to replace the faucet fixture in the bathroom once and for all because the old one was fucking ugly. I got the thing all attached, but when I turned the water back on, it started leaking. I thought it was the connection between the flex pipe and the fixture itself, so I got some threading tape and put that on there in attempt to seal it better. That stopped the leaking, at least mostly, from that part, but the water was still leaking from somewhere else. So...I waited for my dad to get home and he concluded that it must be the connection, and only the connection causing the leak, despite my observation of the water coming from other areas.

We took it apart again and figured out that it needed these special little rubber gasket things to pressurize it or summat like that. Soooo...my mom and I hopped in the car and headed over to OSH to see what we could find. We got the thingers, came home, my dad and I put em on, and...the thing shot water out the back of the fixture.

Alright, so we knew it was no longer the connection between the pipes and the fixture, and that the leak was coming from the fixture itself. Ha, I was right. So we figured out that the fountain part (where the water comes out when it's working properly) was secured to the base with these little screws that needed an Alan wrench. My dad unscrewed em and I suggested maybe a little rubber ring might help to seal it, so we scrounged around for one, put it on, screwed the thing back in place, put the fixture back in the sink, and voila! It works.

The whole ordeal lasted several hours, but I must say, the bathroom looks a whole lot nicer and I feel like I accomplished something.

**Side note: I finished reading the fifth Harry Potter book and I'm all distraught. I won't say anything more in case some of you haven't read it yet, but yeah...I was very upset when I finished.

before - after


host - new - old - profile - notes

"You, you give me something...something that nobody else can give..." - 2009-09-19
Why are eyelashes so attractive? - 2007-09-23
Why now? - 2007-09-17
Chyea - 2006-12-29
"We'll be painting, deep down hoping, that the best summer ever will never end... - 2006-08-17