2003-02-11 - 10:46 p.m.
Some self reflections

I've done a lot of self-review in the last few days, and discovered many things I think I may have realized before, but never acknowledged. I don't think people (very much including myself) sit back and realize what they have, and just express how grateful they are. And I don't mean for the usual cliche things like a roof over your head, food on the table, and clothes on your back (not that those aren't important), but I mean grateful for the kind words someone says to you. I am reminded of Anne Frank's quote, which is one of my favorite of all time: "In spite of everything, I think people are still good at heart." That sums it up perfectly.

I realized that words seeming to be playful banter may be excessive, and eventually hurtful. Having personally been through this, I should know by now to watch myself, but I often don't. I apologize.

I also realized that a lot of times, I take for granted the kindness my friends and family offer. Simply noticing that I may be upset and taking the time to ask if I'm okay, and meaning it...I mean caring about my response, even if it isn't positive, means so much, and I all too often don't express my appreciation for said gestures.

I think I try to make gestures like these myself, and when others don't appreciate them, or ignore them, I get tired, just as any human being would. I get tired of being kind to those that take it for granted. And yet, I unconciously take others for granted.

I think a little awareness would do everyone some good.

Sometimes I want to be alone. To think, to reflect, to escape. But after a while, I feel lonely, as I have a lot lately...and I know how much I appreciate feeling welcome when I come back to earth. If I realize that it is so important to feel welcome, why then, do I not try to understand that need in others? Because I don't take that extra second. Those that do often go unappreciated, which results in less and less people being aware of humanity and those surrounding them until eventually everyone is a mass of spiders on their own webs, but with no connecting stands.

All it takes is a little reaching out. Not even that far, maybe just to your mom or dad or best friend, or acquaintance you'd like to become better friends with... I'm going to try and take a second to expand my awareness of my human surroundings, and I encourage every one else to do the same.

Thank you, to all those who do take that extra few seconds to think, and care. And I apologize for not acknowledging this earlier.

before - after


host - new - old - profile - notes

"You, you give me something...something that nobody else can give..." - 2009-09-19
Why are eyelashes so attractive? - 2007-09-23
Why now? - 2007-09-17
Chyea - 2006-12-29
"We'll be painting, deep down hoping, that the best summer ever will never end... - 2006-08-17