2003-07-26 - 9:15 p.m.
Band rant

I just realized something...it's always the really fuckin' great bands that break up or have an important member die. Never the ones that are just mediocre...no, those ones stay around for 40 years. And I'm not trying to say that the Rolling Stones are mediocre, because they're not, and because if I did say that, I'd get a lot of flak, but still, they're not that great.

This whole thing started earlier today when I was showing my dad Soundgarden, and I really started thinking about what a bummer it is that the broke up. And not really for any good reason. As Chris Cornell put it, "There was no reason to stay together if we weren't enthusiastic and didn't feel like it anymore." Bah! It's like those people that are mind-bogglingly brilliant at whatever they do and they're just like, "eh, I don't feel like doing it right now." What a waste of talent. Don't get me wrong, I think Audioslave is fucking awesome, and I'm super-psyched to see them at Lollapalooza in August, but they do no justice to the genius that was Soundgarden. I mean, shit, those guys knew what they were doing. Weird time changes, absurd and brilliant melodies, trance-like qualities, Led Zeppelinish lyrics. Oh man. Fuckin GREAT. And they are no more--haven't been for the last six years.

Led Zeppelin is no more, either. Or Pink Floyd for that matter. Or the Beatles, or fucking Smashing Pumpkins even. And they weren't even old. I'm sorry Hayley, but what the fuck is Zwan? They are nothing to what Smashing Pumpkins were. Nothing.

And then there's the people that died. All the brilliant musicians and singers that died. Jim Morrison, Jimi Hendrix, and Janis Joplin all died at 27, so it wasn't even like they got old. Jerry died, and so did Marley, and then of course who could forget Kurt Cobain. And who knows, maybe great bands like the Foo Fighters and Queens of the Stone Age wouldn't have formed if it weren't for Kurt's death, but still...who doesn't wish Nirvana weren't still around. Or at least around long enough for some of us younger people to have seen them live.

It just sucks that all good things must come to an end. Obviously some great bands are still around (I mean ones that have been together for 15+ years [those of you who know me well know I'm specifically referring to the Chili Peppers]), but there are just so many more that aren't. And it makes me sad.

I guess all we can do is keep them alive by continuing to enjoy and appreciate them for everything they've contributed to the world.

What do y'all think? Leave me a note with your take on it.

before - after


host - new - old - profile - notes

"You, you give me something...something that nobody else can give..." - 2009-09-19
Why are eyelashes so attractive? - 2007-09-23
Why now? - 2007-09-17
Chyea - 2006-12-29
"We'll be painting, deep down hoping, that the best summer ever will never end... - 2006-08-17