2003-04-24 - 8:58 p.m.
Oh boy, what a day

First thing that was funny/cool that happened was that some seniors switched two teachers' rooms with each other. (Strub and Florio for M-A students or grads.) And I mean down to the last detail. They even wrote what was on their boards. Supposedly both teachers were rather traumatized by the incedent, but I think that's hella funny. I wanted to do something like that as a senior prank next year, cept on a larger scale...like put the English rooms in the science wing, and put the science rooms in the history wing. Hehehe, scheming is fun.

Alright, second cool/funny thing that happened today was this: I was at work and trying to decide what to go and get to eat, and finally decided on Su Hong (Chinese food). Now of course I happen to go during the one hour in the afternoon that they are closed (from 3:00 to 4:00), so I was like, "alright...I guess I'll just walk over to Mex to go, since it's close and they have good nachos." So I went over there, ordered my nachos, and this guy that works at Trader Joe's (it's a grocery store a couple blocks away, for those of you that dun live around here) comes in a couple minutes after me. When my nachos were ready, I got them and started walking out the back door back to my car. The TJ's guy stops me and says, "Uh, this is gonna sound weird, but are you single?" (The weird part being that he was on his cell phone.) So I said, "yeah..." and gave him this kinda weird look. So then he says into the phone, "She said yeah and now she's looking at me funny" (which of course only provoked an even stranger look). Then he proceeded to say, "well um, I work over at Trader Joe's, I dunno if you've ever been there...[I nod], and my buddy over there, Matt, he's another manager..he was passing by and saw you in the window on his way to get pizza at the pizza place on the corner, Applewood. Anyway, yeah...I wouldn't normally do this, and I'm sorry I know you're on your lunch break, but he's a really good friend of mine. I dunno if you've seen him, he's got blonde hair...anyway, he's a really great guy. I'm sorry, what's your name?" So I reply, "Mira.." and he goes, "oh, hi..anyway, do you have like, a number? Like a cell phone number or something I can give him? I'm sorry, I wouldn't normally do this..." So I asked, "um, how old is he?" and he says, "how old are you, honestly?" I said, "how old is he?" And he goes, "Twenty-five." So I kinda laughed and said, "oh..sorry, he's too old for me..." And he goes, "oh, how old are you?" and I said "Seventeen." His jaw kinda dropped and he goes, "are you serious?? You have to be kidding me, you're seventeen?" So I was like, "yeah...why, how old did you think I was?" and he's like, "I thought you were like, twenty-two or twenty-three..." I said, "oh...okay...well, tell him I'm sorry." Goofy, but a nice confidence boost. =)

And lastly, the third strange thing that happened today was that some woman locked herself in one of the building's bathrooms where I work (actually the bathroom shared by the tanning salon and the Wireless World) for like, nine hours. She wouldn't come out, and so finally it took four cops and two firemen to get the door off and take her out. She was some looney homeless woman or something with a cart full of crap. Anyway, one of the officers is a friend of my boss's, so he dropped in and we asked what the hell she was doing in there. He said, "I dunno, but she sure as hell wasn't flushing." Ewww. Yeah, so they cuffed her and stuck her in the police car, and then went through her purse with rubber gloves. There will undoubtedly be a police blotter about it in the Palo Alto Daily sometime in the near future. I thought it was kinda funny that they had FOUR cops there, though. That's the Menlo Park police for you, though. They have nothing better to do with themselves.

So that was my day...I don't usually tell things that happened in my day, but I thought these were all particularly funny anecdotes.

before - after


host - new - old - profile - notes

"You, you give me something...something that nobody else can give..." - 2009-09-19
Why are eyelashes so attractive? - 2007-09-23
Why now? - 2007-09-17
Chyea - 2006-12-29
"We'll be painting, deep down hoping, that the best summer ever will never end... - 2006-08-17