2003-03-08 - 1:06 p.m.
mabears.com

Yes, dot com. Not dot org (which is our school's website, for those of you that either don't know, or don't attend). Anyway, if any of you have ever been to mabears.com, you will know that it is a student-run parody site of the real Menlo-Atherton High School. It is about "MACI," or Menlo-Atherton Correctional Facility. The site is very humorous, and has an accurate description of the disgusting state of our bathrooms.

Anyway, I was bored one day, and went to check out the site again (I hadn't in maybe a year or so, when I first discovered in accidently when trying to find the school's website). I saw that the last update was made in January of 2002, so I wondered if the webmaster had abandoned the site. I decided to e-mail him to see what was up. I figured if he's abanoned the site, he may also have abanoned that e-mail address, but what harm could come from trying? Here's the e-mail I sent him earlier this week:

>>Great website. I actually discovered it as a freshman (I'm now a junior), but never got around to commenting on it. The last update I can see was done in January of '02. Are you still keeping up the site? Or has it kind of dissipated? I know plenty of people (myself included) that would write for your site and perhaps get it to be a little more well-known on campus, if you wanted to revive it a little. Another question: you say you're not a student at M-A, so assume you're alumni? I think in accordance with the freshman friday sign-ups, you might perhaps have a link to senior prank ideas...they've been pretty weak in past years.
-Mira
P.S. nice background.

Here's the response I got this morning:

>>Mira,
Thank you for your interest in the webpage! Unfortunately mabears.com has indeed been left abandoned. I havn't completely given up on updates, but it's hard to find time. As for your question, I am, as you stated, no longer at MA. You could say I'm alumni. I like your senior prank page idea, and I'll see if I can find time (possibly this weekend) to add that and some other new features. Any literary donations from you and/or your friends would be very much appreciated :-)
- MAbears.com Webmaster

So there you have it, folks. It is a must for anyone that attends M-A to check out the website, and for any of you that want to submit columns for it, his e-mail address is on the site. Just tell him I sent you. I'm thinking up something to write on, but probably won't get around to it for a while because I'm swamped with make-up work. I think it'd be a nice collaborative effort on behalf of current students and alumni to make fun of our school.

before - after


host - new - old - profile - notes

"You, you give me something...something that nobody else can give..." - 2009-09-19
Why are eyelashes so attractive? - 2007-09-23
Why now? - 2007-09-17
Chyea - 2006-12-29
"We'll be painting, deep down hoping, that the best summer ever will never end... - 2006-08-17