2003-02-04 - 10:47 p.m.
Study results

The Question:

Say you're single, and you're kind of into this guy/girl, but he/she is going out with someone. You're becoming better friends with this person and one night you're hanging out and talking for hours, and suddenly he/she leans over and starts kissing you. Would you kiss back, or stop him/her? Keep in mind you don�t personally know their girlfriend/boyfriend.

Key:
Kiss back
Stop him/her
Would too much depend upon various factors to make definite decision (or just somewhere in the middle)

Female responses:
* �Kiss back! He�s the one cheating; it�s not your responsibility.�
* �Stop and remind him of his girlfriend and if he shrugs, then go at it.�
* �I think a lot of people would like to think that they�d do the moral thing, but the thing is that in the moment, stuff like that slips. Not to mention you�re not the one cheating.�
* �Stop him and remind him of his girlfriend.�
* �I�d stop him just because I believe in karma, that�s all there is to it (for me).�
* �I would kiss back. I know, I know, but I would. I like kissing. Would I do more? Well, maybe.�
* �I probably wouldn�t kiss back.�
* �I�d kiss back.�
* �Of course, if you�re into them, why not kiss them back? I mean why are you hanging out with them if that�s not what you want to do anyway?�
* �Nope, I�d stop him.�
* �Go for it. Why the hell wouldn�t you?�
* �I don�t know. I�d probably stop him.�
* �Yeah, I think I would.�
* �Well, if I was into the guy, it might be hard to stop myself, but I would have a very guilty conscience...and thinking about it from the girlfriend�s perspective, I know I would probably be hurt if my boyfriend kissed another girl, so...if it didn't mean anything, I wouldn't be completely opposed to it...but it could potentially ruin a relationship, and I would feel bad about that. But if he is kissing you, that shows that their relationship wasn't that strong...and since I don't know the girlfriend�yeah.�
* �Well, if you want to go for it, I probably would.�
* �Sure, go for it. I would kiss back.�
* �No kissing.�
* �I don�t know, I�d kiss him�it�s his fault.�
* �Well, if he�s kissing you, it probably means he wants to be with you and that he likes you a lot, so yeah, go ahead and kiss him.�
* �I�d probably kiss.�
* �Umm�I guess I would kiss back.�
* �Umm, if I was single, I�d probably kiss back, especially if they started it.�
* �Yeah, I�d kiss back, why not?�
* �Yeah, I guess. I mean, if you like him, why wouldn�t you kiss back?�
* �Stop. Well, actually, I�d probably kiss him for a second and then stop.�

Male responses:
* �I�d probably kiss her��
* �Go for it.�
* �I guess I�d kiss her back�but if it were a TV show, I�d have morality issues.�
* �It depends on how serious you want to be. If you just want to mess around, then it's not that big a deal (for you, it's a big deal for the other two parties involved, or something like that) but if you want to be serious, and are not into messing around, I don't think that it's a healthy start to a relationship. And I think that cycles are often repeated.�
* �I�d kiss back just once and then stop to talk to her about it. Because we both know that something�s wrong here, so we have talk about it.�
* �I highly doubt that I am an ideal person morally, so I think what is most likely is that I would kiss back for a bit, then stop her, and make sure I knew what as going through her head yadda, yadda, yadda, and then if all was well I would keep kissing her.�
* �I�d kiss back�I think I�ve already done this before.�
* �Stop her and ask her if she�s sure she wants to do this.�
* �Kiss back.�
* �Stop her. Morals would get too much in the way for me to kiss her back.�
* �I guess I would hold back on it, because that would be pretty shady for the guy.�
* �I�d stop her and ask her what was up, and if she said she didn�t want to be with him anymore, I�d tell her to dump him first.�
* �I would stop her, most certainly.�
* �It all depends on how much I like her, and how horny I am at the time and what not because you have to take into consideration that if she makes the move on me, then she is dissatisfied with her boyfriend of the time and will probably break up with him soon anyway.�
* �I�m a whore. You know my answer.�
* �I would stop her and ask if she really wants to do this, and if she says yes, then I would.�
* �Umm�yeah, I�d kiss back.�
* �I�d kiss her back.�
* �Sure.�
* �Yeah, I would do it.�
* �Stop.�
* �I would say fuck the other person. If they liked me then, what the hell man�that�s their problem.�
* �Sure, kiss back, go ahead.�
* �It depends on whether I think I can have something meaningful with this girl and whether her boyfriend's a dick or not.�
* �I�d go for it.�

Results (general)
60% said they would kiss back
24% said they would stop the person
16% were somewhere in the middle

Results (female)
68% said they would kiss back
24% said they would stop the person
8% were somewhere in the middle

Results (male)
52% said they would kiss back
24% said they would stop the person
24% were somewhere in the middle

Conclusion
I asked 50 people total, 25 females and 25 males, just to make things even and easy to calculate. Not to mention that as the law of large numbers states (woo! Statistics!), the larger the sample size, the closer the sample mean gets to approaching the population mean, so I wanted to get a relatively large sample size. In layman�s terms, this means that the more people studied, the more accurate the data is.

The majority of people across the board in both the male and female categories, as well as overall, would let the devil win out. I hypothesized that of those who let the angel win out, a larger portion would be female, but I found that percentages were equal in both male and female categories. Females, in general, seemed to have more sure answers and were more capable of making one of the definite decisions. What split the percentage differences in the male category was the �in between� option. Almost one fourth of the males did not make a clear decision either way and said it depended upon too many factors to even lean more toward one way or the other. Or, they half kissed back and half didn�t.

I�m not sure whether this implies that women are more decisive (which I would find hard to believe), or just that when faced with a black and white situation, assume they must reply with a black or white answer. Men seem to be better at articulating their desire to be �in the middle� than women, and thus, didn�t end up choosing an answer that leaned more toward one pole than the other half way through their response, as most women did.

This was a fun little study, and I would again like to thank all who participated.



before - after


host - new - old - profile - notes

"You, you give me something...something that nobody else can give..." - 2009-09-19
Why are eyelashes so attractive? - 2007-09-23
Why now? - 2007-09-17
Chyea - 2006-12-29
"We'll be painting, deep down hoping, that the best summer ever will never end... - 2006-08-17