2002-12-03 - 6:44 p.m.
ACLU and other reaching-outness

Lillian and I are starting an ACLU (American Civil Liberties Union) club at M-A, and though we're not sure what day we'll be meeting just yet, we want lots of people to come. We'll hold meetings on either Mondays or Tuesdays in Ms. Kane's room (C-14) at lunch. I (or Lillian) will announce the finalities of it as soon as we know. She's getting a bunch of information on how to start the club and whatnot (she's an ACLU member) on Sunday, so we will be meeting possibly as soon as next week.

In addition to raised awareness in general about civil rights and liberties, I'm hoping that we can provide a place for students to come and ask if their rights have been violated. I know a lot of students have been victim to unlawful search an siezure, especially, so I'm hoping that by providing information on their specific rights, that we can put an end to such violations. A lot of these kids don't know that their rights are being violated, so by having this club, I'm hoping we can educate them and stand up for them. And if they can't afford a trial, ACLU helps back people up and support them, which is truly a blessing.

Besides the issues that the ACLU is concerned with, I'm hoping to spread basic awareness about what people can do to make progress and change in their own community, especially in the school. The lack of knowledge people have about the government, especially local government, is apalling. I feel like if kids knew about how truly easy it is to get a proposition on the ballot and passed, there might be positive change, especially in the funding for schools. The federal government will no longer provide funding for schools that teach anything other than pro-abstinence sex education. Since 1990, abortion rates have dropped significantly, mainly due to better sex ed in public high schools, but if our schools don't have funding for such education, that rate won't continue to drop. Don't get me wrong, I'm definitely pro-choice, but that doesn't mean I'm pro-abortion. It's not exactly a pleasant experience, so through prevention, we can minimize that, and everyone (pro-life and pro-choice) will be happy! I've been wanting to find a way to make condoms available on the school's campus since freshman year, and with enough support, maybe we can get that to happen.

And what about this new "no child left behind" business? Since when is it okay for schools to release their students' information to the military, let alone mandatory!? Just so they can increase recruitments... It's sick. And too many people (the people it affects most [aka the students]) don't even know this is happening. So, basically, I'm trying to spread awareness to (mainly) students about the issues that are affecting them and how they can do something about those issues. A "grass roots" movement is what I'm aiming for, inasmuch.

I've been feeling reaching-outish about a lot of things lately. So far this is the only thing I've actually put into motion, but I don't know. I suddenly care about all these issues I used to just let pass by me. I was watching Boston Public last night, and the whole thing about the priest sexually molesting that boy, and the effects that it had on him really hit a nerve with me. I want a place where kids feel okay talking about shit like that. I know too many people that have been abused in some way or another that feel like they can't tell anyone, and then they bottle up their feelings and do stupid things, usually self-destructive stupid things. Whether that be doing dare devil stunts like the boy on the show, or hurting themselves, or resorting to drugs to escape. Sometimes I feel so small. I just want to help people, but I feel that alone, I don't have enough resources to make an impact. The establishment of the ACLU club at M-A does make me feel like I could have an impact though, and for that, I feel good. I don't know another word to describe it--it just makes me feel good.

I also helped a friend edit his personal statement for UC applications last night, so I hope it helps. I know it's little, but if it helps, that's all that matters.

before - after


host - new - old - profile - notes

"You, you give me something...something that nobody else can give..." - 2009-09-19
Why are eyelashes so attractive? - 2007-09-23
Why now? - 2007-09-17
Chyea - 2006-12-29
"We'll be painting, deep down hoping, that the best summer ever will never end... - 2006-08-17