2002-02-06 - 7:22 p.m.
Eyes

Hidden while you sleep
Plotting for tomorrow
Locked behind their lids
Hiding pain and sorrow
One second they are shining bright
Little stars in the navy sky
Then burning with a merciless fire
Hatred of love gone dry
Small Pandora's box
Pure evil in the night
Innocence and joy
For the first time taking flight
The morning comes and you wake up
The lids are thrown back
The light comes through
And stings your soul
Of blue, red and black
And forever you'll remember
What they saw, what they hide
You can look around,
But can you look inside?
They hide who I am
And who I yearn to be
These jewels are my secret
The depth you cannot see
-Natalie Elliot

I found this poem in Teen magazine...in the days when they still had stuff of at least some substance filling the pages. They don't anymore, and this is why I no longer read the magazine. But that's besides the point. The point was that you can find beauty in the most unexpected of places.

Well, that and the fact that I absolutely love this poem. So much that I cut it out and put it on my wall among the collage of other magazine cut-outs. Not to sound cliche, but eyes really are the windows to the soul. One can tell so much about a person just by looking into their eyes, and I am in awe of this phenomenon. I also like poetry, and despite the fact that this one is a bit "whiney-rhymey," I adore it. I just felt like posting it.

That is all.

before - after


host - new - old - profile - notes

"You, you give me something...something that nobody else can give..." - 2009-09-19
Why are eyelashes so attractive? - 2007-09-23
Why now? - 2007-09-17
Chyea - 2006-12-29
"We'll be painting, deep down hoping, that the best summer ever will never end... - 2006-08-17